Why I’m Happier Than You

You may not have known this, I was actually an immensely devout Christian once. The bible says that once someone is saved, they cannot be unsaved. But let me tell you this, just as I cannot tell a Christian that the trinity is not the center of their life, one can not tell me that it was not once the center of mine. I always did all I could to place the desires of God before mine in every circumstance, and I was fairly good at it too; always being seen as the good Christian kid. I’d pray when I woke up, I’d pray before breakfast, I’d pray after breakfast, I’d pray before lunch, I’d pray after lunch, I’d pray before dinner, I’d pray after dinner, I’d pray whenever anything bad happened, I’d pray whenever anything good happened, I prayed before I went to sleep, I went to church, I went to youth-group, I thought God had given me the power of speech to spread the gospel because I’ve always been good at giving fiery speeches, I wanted to be a missionary when I grew-up, I read the bible every day and every night, I consistantly held my faith through the greatest struggles and deep depressions, I saw God as my only purpose for living; what a sad lost soul I was.

So what happened? As much of a religious person as I was, I have always been a huge science lover. So I set out to prove my faith through science. Then, gradually, it turned from seeking truth with the proving of my beliefs as incentive to just seeking truth for it’s own sake, I acquired a critical and objective mind for rationalizing the data presented to me. Soon, I found the evidence staked against me. Some creationist reading this now might be thinking “but you haven’t seen what I’ve seen”, no, I’ve quite likely seen much more than you have. I was, and still am, completely obsessed with getting all the facts from every side and as much information as I can handle. I have seen the creationist arguments and rather than accepting them at their face value, I put them to the test and they have all failed. One day, I finally had to much and made the hardest decision of my life; became a Deist. Later I became an agnostic, now I am an Atheist.  I’ve already said this isn’t going to be a place for science just my views on intellectualism, if you want to see some of the things I’m talking about then go check out Tim Cooley’s blog, he’s got some good stuff. http://timcooley.wordpress.com/ And look through the archives, not just the front page.

Gambling with your freedom of thought by MilitantInfidel.

At several points in my life I entered an uncontrollable and down-spiraling depression–like most people, except most people don’t get to the point of wanting to kill themselves– the only thing that kept me going was my faith, the belief that there was a creator who loved me and had a great purpose for me. Then when that fateful day–I believe it was May 25th–came, I had lost that one thing that brought me enough comfort to keep going, my supposed purpose for life was gone; I decided it was time to end it. Then, in my attempt…a strange accident happened which prevented me from doing so. After that I decided to give myself a few more months to sort things out, a profound decision that lead to my discovery of a new purpose, one not founded on faith but on reason. I would finally be free!

For the first time I was looking at the world with a completely open mind and also in cooperative with my open mind; the healthiest amount of skepticism. I set out on a noble journey to start from the bottom up rather than peering trough a biased looking glass like before; I trashed everything I knew and started over with nothing left but my choice to have reason as my guide, to say that whatever is the reasonable was also the moral. I discovered Objectivism–not on the internet or television!–a product of my own mind!–I called it Reasonism–then later found out someone had already thought of it. I realized that because I can experience happiness, I have a moral responsibility to myself to pursue it, and since I don’t believe in heaven, it must be pursued for in the here and now. I realized that by the means of reason, my absolute highest value, happiness has an equally important counter part; justice. I realized that the way for which the most happiness for any individual could be achieved was in a just system where everyone had the same right to pursue that magnificent same end without interference from others. One with the most equality, freedom, fair reward and fair punishment as possible. I still do not know what this system is but I will constantly be pursuing it and will undoubtedly change my views many times. Currently, during the writing of this blog, I believe the system is a form of Anarchy in which the free market decides all social matter, this may change. What is the result of these revelations? I have never had a more joyous time in my life, every second is pure ecstasy. I don’t do drugs, I am consistantly pleased by the presence of my own thoughts.

2 Responses to “Why I’m Happier Than You”

  1. What a refreshing read! Personally, dumping my imaginary friend God was like coming up for fresh air. 😉

  2. lianamerlo Says:

    Great post! I can definitely relate to this:
    “One day, I finally had to much and made the hardest decision of my life; became a Deist. Later I became an agnostic, now I am an Atheist.”
    Going to Catholic school all your life (or any religious extreme) has the tendency to make you turn into an atheist. Not sure why it works out that way.

Leave a Reply

